I cant get meshing groups to work properly... Anyone has advice?

Hi all,
I am new to Salome, but up until here everything was great and very intuitive. What I am basically trying is to create simple CAD models, mesh them and do FEM stuff with them (mostly with ElmerFEM). And everytime I try, I run into a problem during meshing. So I and need to export my model, mesh with some other software and so on… I am sure it should work in Salome, so it would be great if somebody could help me out:
Very basic example case: I have been following this 4min video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfMLtywHSr4
For this person, it works, but its also a 5 years old version.