Salome as an automatic Mesher for 3D Aerodynamic Shape Optimization

Hello Salome Community,

I am new to Salome, and before starting to work rigorously with it I need to know some capabilities of Salome’s SMesh from its experienced users.

I want to perform a 3D aerodynamic shape optimization of a wing (will be extended to wing+fuselage+tail later) using OpenMDAO, an open-source framework for MultiDisciplinary Analysis and Optimization. I am using OpenVSP for parametrizing the geometry and making the CAD model. My questions are:

1. Assuming I can import the geometry from OpenVSP to Salome in an acceptable format (such as IGES format) is it possible to write a python script that will automatically import the geometry to Salome’s SMesh without opening the GUI?

2. After importing the wing geometry automatically through a python script, is it possible to automatically mesh with a 3D inflation layer (to capture boundary layers effects) and unstructured mesh beyond the inflation layer? I hope to automate this through a python script.

3. After meshing, is it possible to automatically export the mesh to .su2 format? I am currently using SU2 since it supports adjoint-based gradient evaluation which is crucial for a gradient-based optimization algorithm. If not, is there an alternate way to do it? Probably exporting it to GMSH and then exporting it to .su2 format might work out.

I understand that initially, I need to play around with the GUI to figure out the required number of inflation layers, their size etc. but after figuring them out my main objective is to automate the whole meshing process so that it can automatically and seamlessly work with the Optimization framework. If you have any other suggestions or thoughts regarding this work please let me know.

Thank You!

1. yes, it is preferably the .STEP format. have a look at tutorial
  2. yes. see 1.