Need guidance on creating a structured mesh for a circular section with a hole

I am currently working on a project where I need to generate a structured mesh for a circular section with a hole using Salome. Specifically, I want to create a mesh for an arc of approximately 90° of a pipe with a certain length, where the pipe has a central hole as shown in the attached image.

Hello Jose
I am not good at meshing. Maybe you ask here again with a precise question.
I have made your construction with parameters. I pursue 2 goals:
1.) Example to learn with parameters under SALOME.
2.) If you are in a hurry, just change the parameters.

Salome version can be seen in the screnshot. Used in win10.
The values in the table (step02) can be overwritten. Immediately your construction is automatically changed.

Good luck

parameter.hdf (43,0 KB)

Thank you so much, @Luve, for your response. However, what I’m specifically asking is how to generate a structured mesh for this particular geometry. I’ve attempted various mappings, but I consistently encounter errors.

My knowledge of meshing is not great. Here is a meshing as I usually use it.
If this is not enough for you, please describe the problem in more detail. Maybe another user can help you.

With kind regards

parameter_Vers2.hdf (959,1 KB)

hello,
I assume you need an hex mesh?
you need to divide your geometry in different blocks (so each block has 6 quad faces) and then you create a compound of it and from that you can use in mesh, 3D hexahedron+2D quadrangle+ 1D wire discretization. furthermore you can create the different propagation groups of edges (that you can create in the geometry module) to modify the refinement of the mesh.
here is a possible blocking:

for info, for the blocking I made in the figure, you have a total of 10 different propagation groups
here you have a tutorial (sadly in french but as it is a video it is easy to follow)

best regards,
F.

1 Like