How can I import salome to external python projects in Ubuntu?

There are some basic processes which I do frequently such as making a box and export as stl or reading step files generate surface mesh and export. I was using scripts by running:

salome -t python myscript.py

I want to be able to import salome to my external python projects. How can I do that?

I use Ubuntu 20.04 on wsl in windows11. I’m using linux universal binary Salome-9.9.0.

I assumed I should add some paths and I tried this:

SALOME_LIBS = ['~/Salome/SALOME-9.9.0/BINARIES-CO7/GUI/lib/salome',
               ~/Salome/SALOME-9.9.0/BINARIES-CO7/GEOM/lib/salome',
               '~/Salome/SALOME-9.9.0/BINARIES-CO7/SMESH/lib/salome']

for lib_path in SALOME_LIBS:
    sys.path.append(lib_path)

import salome

But it failed.

Im fairly new to both salome and python. Im sorry if Im asking a trivial question in advance. I appreciate any kind of help.

Umut

Note: I prefer not to use workarounds to automate salome externally such as editting scripts from an external python project and running them in autonomy.

you can try to setup SALOME runtime environment with the env_launch.sh script.
This will ensure that your PYTHONPATH,LD_LIBRARYPATH, etc… environment variables are consistently set and expand yours.

nitawa:/software/SALOME/releases/SALOME-9.10.0> source env_launch.sh
nitawa:/software/SALOME/releases/SALOME-9.10.0> python
import Python 3.6.5 (default, Dec  2 2022, 21:44:27)
[GCC 8.3.1 20190311 (Red Hat 8.3.1-3)] on linux
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import salome
>>> print(salome.__file__)
/software/SALOME/releases/SALOME-9.10.0/BINARIES-CO7/KERNEL/lib/python3.6/site-packages/salome/salome/__init__.py
>>>
1 Like

Thank you so much @NabilG . Terribly sorry for my late response, I was overwhelmed with worked load and didnt see your response earlier. As you suggested, below line solved my problem. :pray:

source env_launch.sh

hello @Umut ,