Adding viscous layer fails on Hexahedral Pipe Mesh

Hi :wave:,

I’m trying to generate a structured mesh for a pipe. I’ve chosen wire discretisation, Quadrangle Mapping and Hexahedron for 1,2 and 3D respectively. I’m able to get a good enough mesh, however when I add Viscous layer hypothesis to size the boundary layer 2 things happen,

• If viscous layer thickness is too high then. Then the mesher throws “Unknown Exception” error. It might be because the viscous layers are encroaching the subdomains used for meshing.

• If the viscous layer is too small, the volume meshing is successful however it appears to have a discontinuity in the domain as shown. Note that the face meshing is perfect, the 3D mesh is what is messed up.

I’m new to this platform and thus any help is appreciated!

Hello,
pretty sure that your issue is coming from double nodes, you can check this by going in mesh/controls/node controls/double nodes. if you have, then that’s your problem, and this comes from having double faces in the interfaces of the cylinder. if that’s the case, you can use glue faces in geom to correct the cad

Thanks for the reply @franco.ota. Unfortunately, it says that I have zero double nodes.

can you share the geometry please? in step or brep format

Sure!

pipe_4body.step (26.4 KB)

you dont have internal faces, your geometry is a solid, when it should be a compound of solids, where each solid is a block, sharing the corresponding faces.

Correct, and I presume that Salome subdivides the domain into hex meshable volumes automatically, doesn’t it? Thats why I stuck with having a single body.

I was working on subdividing the domain manually right now. If I were to use that on Salome,

• Would I need to do something to connect the nodes on the adjacent inner surfaces together? Or would it do automatically - say based on tolerance?